whole wheat

I made my first 100% whole wheat home made pizza today… and… it was… deliciouusss!!!

I had been looking for a whole wheat pizza crust recipe but all of the ones I found were half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour… defeating the purpose of whole wheat! But I found something online, and I tried it and it was fantastic.

Pizza Dough
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup hot water (not boiling)
1 tbsp honey
1 tbsp olive oil
1/3 tsp salt
1 pkg active yeast

mix dry ingredients, add wet ingredients and let them sit until the mixture doubles in size -I actually made this as soon as I woke up, it is such a quick recipe that it only took me like 5 minutes, when I got home from work that afternoon, the dough was READY!

Toppings (a la gypsy)
1 small onion chopped
3 cloves garlic
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 can tomato paste
1 cup water
oregano to taste
1 cup cubed eggplant
1 tbsp cumin
1/2 big portabella mushroom, diced
1/2 red bell pepper
handful fresh baby spinach
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/3 cup shredded mozzarella
olive oil, as needed

saute onion and garlic, mix together water and tomato paste and add to the onion mixture, add oregano and red pepper flakes.  Set aside.  saute eggplant and cumin.  Set aside.  Saute mushrooms. Set aside.  Spread the tomato sauce mixture evenly over prepared pizza dough, then top with eggplant, followed by mushrooms.  Add feta and mozzarella evenly over veggies.  place red peppers over and handfuls of spinach.

Preheat oven to 350F spread you dough to desired shape (mine yielded 8 generous slices) and top with favorite pizza topings.  Cook for 15-20 minutes until the crust is golden brown.

ps- did I mention that it was beautiful today?

