Plumber

About a week ago we started noticing that there was a problem with the plumbing of the house.  Everytime we ran the dishwasher the sink would back up and the basement would flood.  We called a plumber and he said that there was a problem with the sewage system in the house, so he ran a snake and a camera down the sewer pipes and determined that the pipes going from the house to the city sewage was broken…

$3,000 later the pipes were replaced, I ran the washing machine and basement was nice and dry… but sink was still backing-up.  Every time we used the sink, water would drain SLOWLY! It was frustrating.   And I had no intention of spending more money on a plumber…

So after doing some research online I found that I could run a hand held snake through my pipes so I bought one from Lowes (the Cobra Snake Auger 0.5″ 50′ product number 30500 for $27) and after a few frustrating and hard starts, I was able to run the entire thing (50 FEET!!!) down through the sewer vent located in my basement, and FIXED THE PROBLEM! It was hard, gross and yucky… BUT SOOOO REWARDING!

I am very proud of myself and of the things that I am learning about being a home-owner… and yes, I am the man! :)

 

