on UFC

Last night I went to a sports bar with a bunch of my friends to watch the UFC championship taking place in Las Vegas.  I arrived at 8pm and left at midnight.

It was my first time watching a fight, and at first I spent every second cringing, my teeth aching for all the punches thrown, for all the blood shed and all the ribs cracked.  Halfway through the night, I started getting into it, watching for the technicalities and the techniques used by the fighters.  My thoughts and emotions following the mass excitement of the people at the bar… I was sort of into it, you know?

Then, on the fight preceding the major championship event, when a fighter started really hurting his opponent I heard the people around me, screaming, literally, for more blood, and I felt disgusted.  There I was, with a group of people cheering and watching two men hurt each other in the name of “sportsmanship”.  But ultimately, the only way to win was by being the one that physically hurt the other person the most.

And I don’t care what fans call it, but that is not a kind of event/sport/match/game that promotes the advancement of society, that leads to better lives, that encourages enlightenment and services to others.  Someone last night mentioned that the fighters are empowered by the fact that they feel like they can always depend on themselves and that they can take down anyone… but I don’t buy it.  Fighting makes them feel powerful, sure, but that feeling is only pertinent to this physical reality, and in order to feel this way, another being has to be abased and hurt.

I am not really sure how to put it into words, but I felt sad, and I felt somewhat sick that I had been sucked into the excitement of the moment.  I also felt somewhat disillusioned that in order to feel empowered a man has to hurt another… empowerment should come as a result of service to others and by contributing to the communities and the world that we live in.

 

