Nicaragua – the beginning of the end of the beginning

The beginning of the end of the beginning of the… – Or something like that.

It doesn’t matter how many papers you have read, how many formulas you have memorized, when you actually take yourself from your office to the field, nothing goes as expected.  I have only been in Nicaragua for less than 48 hours and some of my nicely laid plans are coming apart.  But that’s okay.  I sort of expected it.

I will be spending the next 6 months in Nica, working with coffee farmers and learning more than I can even imagine.  I expect these months to be filled with amazing challenges that will only help me grow and become a better researcher… also, by the end of this, I hope to have all the data for my dissertation…

The following are pictures I took on my first day here, where I was whisked off to visit farms in northern Nicaragua where we were locating potential locations to install weather stations.

Doesn’t this stove make you want to eat anything that comes out of it?

 

IMG_8709Rice, stew and a wood burning stove
IMG_8712 A single lot being spread out to evenly dry (parchment coffee produced for direct sale by this coop member)IMG_8715 this treeIMG_8729 IMG_8731 IMG_8747bulls and stuff
IMG_8760

